Frances Burnet

Frances Hodgson Burnett, was an English–American playwright and author. She is best known for her children's stories, in particular The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, and Little Lord Fauntleroy.
In 1886 she published Little Lord Fauntleroy. It was originally intended as a children's book, but had a great appeal to mothers. It created a fashion of long curls (based on her son Vivian's) and velvet suits with lace collars (based on Oscar Wilde's attire). The book sold more than half a million copies. In 1888 she won a lawsuit in England over the dramatic rights to Little Lord Fauntleroy, establishing a precedent that was incorporated into British copyright law in 1911.
Her later works include Sara Crewe (1888) - later rewritten as A Little Princess (1905); The Lady of Quality (1896) - considered one of the best of her plays; and The Secret Garden (1909), the children's novel for which she is probably best known today. The Lost Prince was published in 1915, and The Head of the House of Coombe was published in Canada in 1922.



Books by Frances Burnet
A Little Princess:Being the Whole Story of Sara Crewe Now Told for the First Time
Publish date:: 2012
Genre: Adventure
v. 67 from series Children's Classics
Твърда корица
Pages: 208
Price: 11.99 лв.
Alice, The Secret Garden and Heidi
Publish date:: 2010
v. 2 from series Children’s Books
Мека корица
Pages: 840
Not Available
Price: 15.00 лв.
The Secret Garden
Publish date:: 2006
Genre: Novel
v. 7 from series Children's Classics
Твърда корица
Pages: 272
Price: 10.00 лв.
See Trud's e-books използва бисквитки, за да улесни Вашето пазаруване. Ако продължите да използвате услугите ни, ще приемем, че сте съгласни с използването на такива бисквитки. Научете повече за бисквитките и за това как може да се откажете от тях.X
©2024 Trud Publishing House. All rights reserved.